The Sport and Exercise Medicine Awards 2014

The good and the great of Sport and Exercise Medicine gathered at Edinburgh’s Assembly Rooms on the 1-3 October, at the BASEM/FSEM joint Annual Conference Walk 500 Miles 2014, to receive awards and present findings in recognition of their work. Congratulations to all of our award winners.

Honorary Fellowship of the Faculty of Sport and Exercise Medicine

Professor Karim Khan was awarded Honorary Fellowship of the Faculty of Sport and Exercise Medicine (FSEM) UK for his outstanding international contribution to the specialism of Sport and Exercise Medicine. Click here to view the full news item.

UKADIS Malcolm Reid Scholarship in Sport and Exercise Medicine

Awarded to Dr Jonathan Hanson who spent two weeks at the Boston Children’s Hospital Concussion Clinic with Dr William Meehan. With the support of the British Association of Sport and Exercise medicine (BASEM) and the scholarship, Jonathan studied the organisational and referral pathways that service the clinic as well as the clinical structure and management of the pathology itself. Jonathan presented his findings at the BASEM/FSEM Congress 2014 where he was also presented with his award.

Bauerfeind Travel Fellowship Award

Dr James Thing presented the findings of his educational travel fellowship award 2013 at the conference supported by the FSEM. James’ winning clinical proposal was to improve paediatric concussion care in the UK through learning from existing US Concussion Clinic models and undertake a comprehensive cost-benefit analysis to determine whether similar clinics would represent a feasible financial solution for the NHS.

Sir Roger Bannister Medal Award

Awarded to the late Professor Stewart Hillis for a life dedicated to his work in Sport and Exercise Medicine

The Association and Institute Prize for Sport and Exercise Medicine


First Prize – Dr David White: Promoting Physical Activity within Scottish Hospital Settings presentation

Second Prize – Dr Tamim Khanbhai: Double blind randomised controlled trial – Injection of autologous blood in the treatment of chronic patella tendinopathy – A pilot study


First Prize – Dr Bianca Zeitsman: Elite Female Rugby Players (Union versus Touch): Comparative study of cervical spine function

Second Prize – Dr Peter Horobin: Prospective use of a Neuromuscular Screening Tool to determine Risk of Athletic Injury

The Tom Donaldson Essay Prize

1st Prize – Dr Steffan Griffin for ‘Be the Change’

2nd Prize – Dr Hatim Abdulhusseim for ‘A pilot study assessing physical activity levels of football fans at a professional club.’

3rd Prize – Dr Sean Young for ‘Alterations to the classic hand wrapping technique in amateur boxing to minimise injury.’

The ISEM Sir Robert Atkins Award

Awarded to Dr Mike Loosemore. This award is given to an individual who the Institute judges as having made an outstanding contribution to sport and exercise medicine over a period of at least five years.